A Little Guidance(Episode 1)

sketch1495788095231It was finally the big day. I was finally going to be able to make a difference in somebody’s life. You see today is my first day as a guidance counselor. It is a small school in the middle of nowhere but I’m excited to finally make a difference. I’m also really nervous I mean after all I want to leave a good Impression. I had spent my whole life wanting to help people and I finally am getting my chance. I finish my breakfast and begin to drive to work but on the way there I can’t help but think of everything that could go wrong. That five minute drive felt like hours as my mind raced through all the different scenarios. Then all of a sudden the moment arrived I finally see the school and parked my car.

I sit in the car a while because of how nervous I am and I listen to some music to calm my nerves. Noticing what time it was I hurry up and enter the school. As I walk down the hallway I notice my office. I almost don’t believe my eyes not because it was a big office.( I was later told it was quite small compared to the other school in the district.) I can’t believe my eyes because I never thought I would have a office of my own. I thought back to a conversation I had with my parents when I was young. My dad said “Have you thought about what you want to do when you get older?”  I replied “Yes, I am going to have a big office with a huge desk and put my feet up on the desk and relax because I will be the big boss!” I snap out of my day dream and I star laughing to myself thinking of all the silly things we say when we are younger. Still the thought intrigued me so I shut the door and leaned backed in my chair. Once I put my feet up on the desk I started to laugh as I knew my parents would enjoy this story. As I start to lose my thought I hear a woman’s voice followed by a knock on the door. I am so nervous I quickly get my legs off the table knocking all the papers off my desk.

She opens the door and sees me quickly picking up the papers. She starts to laugh and says “You must be the new Guidance counselor?” I nervously laugh and say “You must be the assistant that I was emailed about.” She replied ” Yes, my name is Peggy and I will be here to help you if you ever need it.” I reply “Thank you so what is first on the agenda?” She says “Well we have first day meetings with every member of the senior class but don’t worry it is a small class of only 30 students.” She continues to say ” We must get through them all today that is school policy. I will start gathering the students.”

As she left the office I started to get nervous after all this school was Notorious for trouble makers. Still I was determined to reach at least one of these student. I had to write files on each student and I planned to review them case by case to try to know them better. Before I knew it the first group of five students came in. To say that it went badly would be an understatement. They didn’t seem to respect me because I was to close to their age and their last counselor was much older and he left for a different school district. I would ask them all my questions but they wouldn’t have it staying silent the whole time. I didn’t want to make it seem like I was interrogating them I just wanted to get to know them so I could help them. I hoped it would get better with the next group of students.

Much to my disappointment it was much of the same that was until I met a student named Jimmy. Jimmy was a star athlete in football and basketball. I got the sense he had a bright future but as I looked over his file I noticed he was really struggling with his grades. I could tell he was a bright kid and I thought there has to be something more to this. He didn’t say much information about himself but he did say he was an only child and his parents were going through a divorce. This was closest any of the students cam to opening up. I was excited about reaching this student. Maybe I could get him tutors or help him in some way. This was why I was here to help students like this.

It was now time for the next group of students. This group was probably the harshest and it was bringing me down off my excitement from the first student opening up to me. Then the last student of this group gave me hope again. The students name was Jessica and I could see her freshman and sophomore years she was an expert photographer but the suddenly stopped doing any school activities. When I asked her about it she said her family couldn’t afford all the extra school fees. I could see in her facial expressions that she really wished she could still do those activities. I told myself that this was the second student I could help. I would talk to her parents or do whatever it took to help.

In the next group I met Steven a student that was brand new to the town. I felt I could help him meet other students that had similar interests and help him feel more welcomed. From what I seen from this school I knew it would be tough but I knew I could do it. Then my assistant informed me the last group was on their way.

Before the last group came in I told myself I needed to find one more student I could reach. When I got to the last student I noticed he had a black eye and bruises all over. Brian told me there is one group of guys that bullies and harasses him on a regular basis. I knew I found the fourth student I could help. So after interviewing the whole class I had found four students I could help. I knew that wasn’t a big number but in a way maybe it was a good thing I could focus my attention and really be a difference maker in their lives.

As I went home for the day I looked over the file of the four students I wanted to make an impact on. Jimmy, Jessica, Brian ,and Steven. These were going to be the students I would want to know the best because I knew I could help them. It wasn’t going to be easy but I knew this was why I got this job. Four students that just needed a little guidance.

It was finally the big day. I was finally going to be able to make a difference in somebody’s life. You see today is my first day as a guidance counselor. It is a small school in the middle of nowhere but I’m excited to finally make a difference. I’m also really nervous I mean after all I want to leave a good Impression. I had spent my whole life wanting to help people and I finally am getting my chance. I finish my breakfast and begin to drive to work but on the way there I can’t help but think of everything that could go wrong. That five minute drive felt like hours as my mind raced through all the different scenarios. Then all of a sudden the moment arrived I finally see the school and parked my car.

I sit in the car a while because of how nervous I am and I listen to some music to calm my nerves. Noticing what time it was I hurry up and enter the school. As I walk down the hallway I notice my office. I almost don’t believe my eyes not because it was a big office.( I was later told it was quite small compared to the other school in the district.) I can’t believe my eyes because I never thought I would have a office of my own. I thought back to a conversation I had with my parents when I was young. My dad said “Have you thought about what you want to do when you get older?”  I replied “Yes, I am going to have a big office with a huge desk and put my feet up on the desk and relax because I will be the big boss!” I snap out of my day dream and I star laughing to myself thinking of all the silly things we say when we are younger. Still the thought intrigued me so I shut the door and leaned backed in my chair. Once I put my feet up on the desk I started to laugh as I knew my parents would enjoy this story. As I start to lose my thought I hear a woman’s voice followed by a knock on the door. I am so nervous I quickly get my legs off the table knocking all the papers off my desk.

She opens the door and sees me quickly picking up the papers. She starts to laugh and says “You must be the new Guidance counselor?” I nervously laugh and say “You must be the assistant that I was emailed about.” She replied ” Yes, my name is Peggy and I will be here to help you if you ever need it.” I reply “Thank you so what is first on the agenda?” She says “Well we have first day meetings with every member of the senior class but don’t worry it is a small class of only 30 students.” She continues to say ” We must get through them all today that is school policy. I will start gathering the students.”

As she left the office I started to get nervous after all this school was Notorious for trouble makers. Still I was determined to reach at least one of these student. I had to write files on each student and I planned to review them case by case to try to know them better. Before I knew it the first group of five students came in. To say that it went badly would be an understatement. They didn’t seem to respect me because I was to close to their age and their last counselor was much older and he left for a different school district. I would ask them all my questions but they wouldn’t have it staying silent the whole time. I didn’t want to make it seem like I was interrogating them I just wanted to get to know them so I could help them. I hoped it would get better with the next group of students.

Much to my disappointment it was much of the same that was until I met a student named Jimmy. Jimmy was a star athlete in football and basketball. I got the sense he had a bright future but as I looked over his file I noticed he was really struggling with his grades. I could tell he was a bright kid and I thought there has to be something more to this. He didn’t say much information about himself but he did say he was an only child and his parents were going through a divorce. This was closest any of the students cam to opening up. I was excited about reaching this student. Maybe I could get him tutors or help him in some way. This was why I was here to help students like this.

It was now time for the next group of students. This group was probably the harshest and it was bringing me down off my excitement from the first student opening up to me. Then the last student of this group gave me hope again. The students name was Jessica and I could see her freshman and sophomore years she was an expert photographer but the suddenly stopped doing any school activities. When I asked her about it she said her family couldn’t afford all the extra school fees. I could see in her facial expressions that she really wished she could still do those activities. I told myself that this was the second student I could help. I would talk to her parents or do whatever it took to help.

In the next group I met Steven a student that was brand new to the town. I felt I could help him meet other students that had similar interests and help him feel more welcomed. From what I seen from this school I knew it would be tough but I knew I could do it. Then my assistant informed me the last group was on their way.

Before the last group came in I told myself I needed to find one more student I could reach. When I got to the last student I noticed he had a black eye and bruises all over. Brian told me there is one group of guys that bullies and harasses him on a regular basis. I knew I found the fourth student I could help. So after interviewing the whole class I had found four students I could help. I knew that wasn’t a big number but in a way maybe it was a good thing I could focus my attention and really be a difference maker in their lives.

As I went home for the day I looked over the file of the four students I wanted to make an impact on. Jimmy, Jessica, Brian ,and Steven. These were going to be the students I would want to know the best because I knew I could help them. It wasn’t going to be easy but I knew this was why I got this job. Four students that just needed a little guidance.

Episode 2 is coming soon

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Guidance(Episode 1)

Leave a Reply

